NYX Lippies Review

All things pretty

Let’s start this out with a little 2016 trends recap.

2016 make-up trends can be sum up in a few words: Nude tone, Glam make-up and Baddie style. And the hype for this will continue to stay on top for at least the whole 2017.

2016 is the year reddish and pop-coloured lipstick have to take a step back for nude, skin tone and brownish under-toned lippies. And not to mention matte finish and liquid lipsticks are on real high demand.

Have to admit I’m a sucker for all the lippies with “my-lips-but-better” colours. Shame shame I know. But let’s be real, who don’t wanna look all put together and sleek while still being “all me” and natural?! Today let’s me introduce you to my teeny tiny collection of the all time favourite NYX cosmestic lippies. 

Frenssss say hiiiii!

 

15991649_1872305003012211_526198575_o.jpg

From left to right: Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in number 09 Abu Dhabi, Nyx Intense Butter Gloss in 06 Chocolate Crepe, Nyx Lingerie in 04 Ruffle Trim, Nyx Simply Nude Lip Cream in 06 Sable and baby Essence lipliner in 11 In The Nude.

Andddd here are the swatches on the inside of my hand! (The colours may vary upon your lips colour thou, so make sure to test it on the inside of your thumb before buying it!)

16106843_1872304999678878_2014632285_o.jpg

No.1 Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in number 09 Abu Dhabi. 

15970481_1872447116331333_1268251734_n

(I’m pretty bad at describing lipstick colour so bear with me if I keep mentioning the word “nude”!)

This is one of the very first liquid lipsticks from Nyx. It goes wayyyy back then, but the quality of the product is sooo well-loved by the beauty/cosmetic lovers, so it sticks around for quiet sometime and still in the top 3 of Nyx’s best lipstick!

The colour is well pay off. It has a subtle orange under-toned rather than peachy. It’s also very high in opacity. However, if your skin is from middle to darker scale, I don’t recommend using this since it can make you look washed-out.

It has a matte finish and even though it stays on pretty long, it is transferable.

You can smell a sweet, brownies, candy-liked sense in this.

A bottle of 8ml (I love the matte material of the cap sooo damn much) costs $13. As I swap between lipsticks and I just purchased these babies last year, I’m not very sure how long this gonna last.

No.2 Nyx Intense Butter Gloss in number 06 Chocolate Crepe.

15995476_1872447082998003_714059517_n

It is soooo pigmented! It shocked me the first time I tried it on. This baby came in my Christmas NYX gift set. I did have my expectation for this as a “lip gloss with colour”kinda lipsticks. But it amazed me by the surprisingly smooth and glossy texture.

Chocolate Crepe is a deep rich brown colour with a bit of purple and red in it. It is so pigmented and super complimenting on my lips. It has this glossy , *sexy* finish and a sweet sense. I love it this lipstick soo soooo much!

It also comes in the 8ml bottle with a glossy purple-ish cap.

No. 3 Nyx Lingerie in number 04 Ruffle Trim

15978647_1872447196331325_302801997_n

Do I need to mention the popularity of this babe again or you still haven’t overed it yet? This is a must-have item in any beauty guru make-up bag. It beats many high-end liquid lipsticks on the market. This is my all time favourite, daily go-to, best of the besties lipstick!

Ruffle Trim is this peachy nude tone which is super light-weight and easy to apply on your lips. Super super pretty colour. I fell asleep with this on and waking up surprised “I’ve lipstick on this whole time?”.

It has a matte finish and non-transferable. (Which means you can kiss your significant ones with this on without leaving them lipstick stains. Uh-mah-zing!). I had this on for a whole long day and I can say it stays put really well too! You don’t have to re-apply it every 2 hours or keep checking yourself in the mirror. Plus plus plus

However, as for any matte finish liquid lipsticks, Nyx Lingerie does leave my lips dry and it hung onto my dry patches. So remember to always put your lip balm on (then wipe it off) before applying any matte liquid lipsticks.

$15 for a 4ml tube. The glass tube itself is pretty heavy and *high quality* as I would say. The applicator is soft and flat on the sides and super thin so there’s no way you can mess it up. Super make-up beginner-friendly!

Highly recommended!

No 4. Nyx Simple Nude Lip Cream in colour 06 Sable. 

15970104_1872447099664668_585910257_n

Super easy to apply. Beginner-friendly. Everyday look. If you are a time-lacking and make-up free kinda girl, you will love this as much as I do.

The colour sable is so subtle and it’s truly is a my-lips-but-better colour. Still, for lighter skin tone. Or it can be a good lip concealer to used as a base for your nude lip colour later as well.

It’s super creamy, buildable. You will need two glides for the true colour to appear.

The lipstick is packed in a crayon shaped tube with clear cap and twisted end. It’s the only one that is not liquid in my Nyx collection. $12 for 3g.

Highly recommended!

No. 5 Essence In The Nude 11 lipliner.

15970266_1872447286331316_1222709096_n

Even though this is not a Nyx, but I love this sooo much I have to share it with you guys.

Despite not being the truest “nude”, this is the prettiest colour you can find in a lipliner (haven’t tried all the lipliner, soooo bias I know I know). Besides the fact that it help erase great deal of your natural unwanted lip lines, do you know that you can use your lipliner as a non-transferable, matte finish lipstick that stays (properly) forever.

It only cost $2 for a 1.2g so this is one absolute catch.

The only cons is that you need to have a sharpener but that’s not a big deal right.

No. 5.5 Nyx Matte Lip Cream in colour 12 Buenos Aires

15992161_1872442072998504_2064123612_o

Another Matte Lip Cream. I absolutely adore the texture and the consistency. However the colour just doesn’t go well with my skin tone. I looked super washed out so I always have to wear this colour with another darker lipstick.

Guess I should have this include here incase some of you may wanna try this colour.

Hope you guys find some helpful, or at least entertaining, information here. More 2016 recap and 2017 trends coming up in make-up, fashion and many more.

See you until next time!

Leave a Reply

